Port-Harcourt Water Corporation (PHWC)

The Port-Harcourt Water Corporation(PHWC) established pursuant to the Water Sector Development Law No. 7, of 2012. It was formerly Rivers State Water Board which was established pursuant to the Water Board Law cap 138, laws of Rivers State 1991. The functions of the Board includes, amongst others, the supply of water to the public for drinking; domestic, industrial, commercial and other purposes through establishing  and managing water undertakings in the State.
The law vests it with power to prospect for water by sinking wells and shafts or bore-holes, and to make, build, construct, lay down and maintain reservoirs, waterworks, cisterns, tanks, culverts, filter beds, main and other pipes and appliances, and to execute and do all other things necessary or convenient for obtaining, storing, selling, delivering, measuring and distributing water or otherwise for the purpose of the Board. It is also mandated to establish, operate and control sewage systems in the State.Thus Rivers State Water Board has the statutory mandate to develop, construct, install, establish, operate, sell, manage and supply safe drinking water to all areas of Rivers State and also to establish, operate and control sewage systems in the State. In order to effectively provide water   services, RSWB like other water producing institutions worldwide, needs substantial logistics and financial resources which should ordinarily be generated from tariff, charges levied on the users of the water, as well as any sewerage system established by the Board.

OFFICE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER (GM)The General Manager of RSWB is the Chief Executive Officer. At present the GM reports directly to the Hon. Commissioner of Water Resources and Rural Development.  The RSWB board currently has nine (9) departments under the supervision of the General Manager, Engr. Martin M. Mmeo. (Ag G.M)

  • Administration
  • Finance and Supply (DFS)
  • Commercial
  • Electrical
  • Civil
  • Mechanical
  • Quality Control
  • Planning and Procurement
  • Planning, Research and Statistics
  • Sewage 
WATER BOARD STATION Each station operated by the RSWB has a Station Manager appointed to it.
  • Rumuola Mega Station
  • Diobu Pumping Station
  • Moscow, Borokiri and Ernest Ikoli Pumping Station
  • Eagle Island Production and Pumping Station


  • Elelewno Pumping Station
  • Woji Pumping Station
  • Transamadi Production and Pumping Station
  • Rumukurushi Pumping Station